Downtown for the day

Today, my flatmate and I went downtown for some brunch and to walk around the city. It was so beautiful and sunny, and very busy as sun is a rare thing here. We had brunch at the Trans-European Cafe. When my parents went on their honeymoon, my Grandpa gave them some money and joked that now they could get Eggs Benedict. I’ve always thought that was so sweet, so I got Eggs Benedict and a hot chocolate. The owner/waiter was so friendly and always singing to himself.

Breakfast at the Trans European Cafe :)

Breakfast at the Trans European Cafe 🙂

IMG_2420

Yum!

After food, we walked north to St. George’s Square, in the heart of Glasgow. This is where the City Chambers are, as well as a monument to those who died in WWII and statues of people significant to Glaswegian history.

Museum with modern art and a statue of Duke of Wellington, which people always put a pylon on

Museum with modern art and a statue of Duke of Wellington, which people always put a pylon on

Me being a tourist

Me being a tourist

WWII memorial

WWII memorial

People enjoying the square

St. George Square

We then headed to Buchanan Street, the main pedestrian street in town with amazing shops, lots of street performers and is the second busiest shopping area after Oxford St. in London. I bought some coconut chips and soap from Lush which I lost when I forgot my bag on the subway ride home. Still mad at myself, still not over it. I hope the thief has a great shower with my soap. ANYWAYS, everyone in the shops was so nice and helpful and I think the sun has put us all in a very good mood. Going to check out campus tomorrow I think before Orientation on Monday. An amazing day exploring Glasgow!! 🙂 🙂

(mom and dad I know I have to be more careful with my bags, I’m sorry!!!1)

One thought on “Downtown for the day

Leave a comment